Project Management

中文


Project Management


Many projects experience severe delays and cost overruns. This is true in a wide range of industries and in the private or public sectors. When these big projects run into trouble, they can inflict major financial losses and risks on the companies.

In order to complete their large projects on time and within budget, companies typically rely on contracts with aggressive timelines and fixed delivery dates. But these strict contracts can often backfire, setting up an adversarial and conflicted relationship between companies and their contractors, and at the same time, creating a high-pressure environment that stresses both processes and resources. Many large projects suffer from low productivity, faulty planning, and poor collaboration between contractors and companies.

Success in large project management depends on timely and accurate decision making. Large project schedules and completion dates are too often based on managerial ambitions, contractual objections, or even wishful thinking. These schedules quickly become detached from reality and lose all credibility. To make these decisions, companies need complete transparency into the detailed workings of the large project. They cannot get achieve this without first building an open and collaborative relationship with contractors who feel comfortable sharing information in real time about both successes and problems.

Our team believe that in any successful large project, three key ingredients are essential: credibility, transparency and collaboration.  Effective large capital project management depends on breaking through organizational boundaries to enable cross-functional trust, collaboration and radical transparency. An effective approach is a sort of digital situation room, bringing together everyone involved and discussing status, processes, routines, and leveraging the effectiveness of digital tools. Instead of blaming messengers who share bad news, managers should reward employees who bring issues to their attention so they can devote all necessary resources to find innovative solutions.

工程项目管理

English


工程项目管理

许多项目遇到严重的延误和成本超支。在各行各业,不论是私营部门还是公共部门都是如此。当这些大项目陷入困境时,它们会给公司带来重大的经济损失和风险。
 
为了按时在预算内完成大型项目,公司通常依赖时间表和固定交货日期的合同。但是,这些严格的合同往往适得其反,在公司与其承包商之间建立对抗性和冲突关系,同时创造一种高压环境,强调流程和资源。许多大型项目都存在生产率低、规划错误以及承包商和公司之间协作不力等问题。
 
大型项目管理的成功取决于及时准确的决策。大型项目时间表和完成日期往往基于管理野心、合同异议甚至一厢情愿的想法。这些时间表很快脱离了现实,失去了所有的信誉。为了做出这些决策,公司需要完全透明地了解大型项目的详细工作,与承包商建立开放的协作关系,让承包商感到能够舒适地实时分享有关信息,无论是取得成功还是遇到问题。
我们的团队相信,在任何成功的大型项目中,三个关键要素至关重要:可信度、透明度和协作性。 有效的大型资本项目管理取决于突破组织界限,以实现跨职能信任、协作并保持透明度。一种有效的方法是建立一种数字分析室,将参与的每个人聚集在一起,讨论当前状态、流程、常规任务,充分利用数字工具的有效性。管理者不应责怪分享坏消息的人,而应奖励那些提出问题的员工,以便他们能够投入所有必要的资源来寻找具有创新性的解决方案。